The ATV Promoters Group (ATVPG) has announced the schedule for the 2009 ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA National Motocross Championship presented by Parts Unlimited.

The 11-round Pro series begins on the west coast with the season opener at Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, Calif., March 7-8. Afterwards the Pros will head east to join with the first round of the ATVA Series for the next ten events starting at Mill Creek Raceway in Alabama, March 21-22 and ending in Tennessee at the historic Loretta Lynn Ranch, August 15-16.

Rockstar/ MSR/Suzuki/Yoshimura/Pro Taper rider Dustin Wimmer will try to defend his title, which he won in convincing fashion ahead of two-time champion Joe Byrd of American Honda. Wimmer will also have to deal with Suzuki teammates Doug Gust and Chad Wienen. Gust was steady all season and finished third in the standings, while Wienen came on very strong in the final weeks, including winning the season finale.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Josh Creamer will look to improve on his fourth-place finish in the standings. Also, you can expect Yamaha riders to show improvement on the all new YFZ450R and Can-Am riders to continue to earn podium finishes. It would also be foolish to overlook KTM, which will be making its ATVA National Motocross debut in 2009.

2009 ITP/Moose AMA/ATVA National Motocross Schedule:

Date Facility Location
March 7/8 Glen Helen Raceway San Bernardino, CA
March 21/22 Millcreek Raceway Pell City, AL
April 4/5 Ballance Moto X Bowling Green, KY
April 18/19 Birch Creek Motorsports Danville, VA
May 2/3 Sunset Ridge MX Walnut, IL
May 23/24 Steel City Raceway Delmont, PA
June 13/14 Unadilla Valley Sports Center New Berlin, NY
June 27/28 Muddy Creek Raceway Blountville, TN
July 18/19 Pleasure Valley Raceway Armagh, PA
August 1/2 Redbud MX Buchanan, MI
August 15/16 Loretta Lynn Ranch Hurricane Mills, TN

Related Reading:Wienen wins AMA season finale



Find a ATV Dealer near you

Enter your ZIP code below to search for ATV dealers near you.

Be the first to write a comment.

Email this article to a friend