Eichner Cruises to WORCS Win

ATV.com Staff
by ATV.com Staff
Polaris rider picks up first Pro ATV win of season

After failing to reach the Pro ATV podium in the first two rounds of the 2008 WORCS Series, racing legend Doug Eichner picked up a big win in Round 3.

Eichner finished more than two minutes ahead of the field on his Polaris Outlaw 525 S in Lake Havasu, Ariz. on March 23. He finished the 14-lap race in one hour, 36 minutes and 43 seconds.

With a fantastic start, Eichner grabbed the holeshot, flew around the first corner and cruised to victory against the field of 24. The win was Eichner’s second of the weekend. He also took the checkered flag in Pro Production, which he used to test his machine for Sunday’s main event.

“I’m thrilled to have put the Outlaw back on top of the Pro podium at WORCS,” says Eichner. “But it is the team effort and personal contributions of each team member, sponsor support and Polaris Engineering team that is the most commendable part of the weekend. And, I can’t thank WORCS enough for putting on a top-notch national competition.”

Can-Am picked up a second-place finish thanks to Brandon Smith and his DS 450. Beau Baron piloted his Suzuki QuadRacer R450 to third.

Defending champion Josh Frederick, who won the first two Pro ATV events this season on a DS 450, only managed to complete six laps of the main event, while Kawasaki’s Robbie Mitchell picked up his second DNF in three races.

Angela Butler rode her Polaris Outlaw 450 MXR to a victory in the Women’s A Class.

“Polaris is very excited about the performance of the team this WORCS round,” says Polaris race team manager Eric Nault. “Eichner’s two Pro wins to Butler’s continuing domination of the Womens class further proves the Outlaws’ prowess on the track.”

In the side-by-side class, Yamaha Rhino drivers Jim Castelli, Adam Templeton and Robert Vanbeekum III went 1-2-3, while points leader Eichner finished fourth.

Pro ATV Round 3 Results:

Position RiderManufacturerTime
1.Doug EichnerPolaris1:36:43.0
2.Brandon SmithCan-Am1:38:46.6
3.Beau BaronSuzuki1:40:26.3
4.Dustin NelsonYamaha1:41.33.4
5.Mike MachadoHonda1:42:17.5

Pro ATV Standings:

Position RiderManufacturerPoints
1.Josh FrederickCan-Am60
2.Timothy ShelmanHonda49
3.Doug EichnerPolaris48
4.Mike MachadoHonda47
5.Brandon BrownOther45
ATV.com Staff
ATV.com Staff

More by ATV.com Staff