Pomeroy Sweeps Pro Finals in RMR Finale

ATV.com Staff
by ATV.com Staff
Can-Am Series wraps up in Vermont

Matt Pomeroy capped a successful 2008 ATV racing season with two more wins, sweeping the Pro finals as Rock Maple Racing (RMR) completed the final round of the Can-Am Series on Sunday, Sept. 14 at the Monkton Grass Drags in Bristol, Vt.

Pomeroy was consistent throughout the entire season. His first win came in Round 2 at Twister Valley, and he went on to record four more wins before Sunday’s finale, bringing his season total to seven. He also swept the Pro finals at Thunder Ridge on July 27, joining Luke Marois as the only two riders to sweep two Can-Am RMR Series events this year.

Steffen Dager also enjoyed a breakthrough season on the Can-Am Series. He held off Aaron Blouin to claim the A Unlimited final for his sixth win. Brad Burbine is another RMR regular that had momentum on his side in 2008 as he held off Michael Gustus for top honors in B Unlimited action.

Andrew Ruel was nearly unbeatable in 2008, winning all but one C Unlimited final (he finished second to David Livingston in that battle). In the pits since RMR first entered ATV racing in the fall of 2006, Ruel finished ahead of Josh Bennett and Glynn Desilva in the season finale.

George Layton returned to winning form, holding off a hard-charging Colin Lancaster to claim the Plus 35 class final. Joe Costello completed the podium on a Suzuki as Honda swept the first two positions. Leanna Lymon piloted her Yamaha to victory in a hotly-contested Women’s Unlimited final, with riders Jill Walsh and Sandra Pearson second and third respectively.

Curtis Gillilan picked up a victory in the Production Lites final. He took the checkered flag ahead of Justin Chamberland and Dylan Whitmore for top honors as Honda dominated the podium.

Other MX class winners on Sunday include Jake Chamberland (90cc Modified); Brittany Soucy (90cc Limited); Richard Murtaugh (70cc Modified); and CJ Clookey (50cc Junior & Senior).

In QuadTerrain action Chad Rheaume led Bristol’s Alex Layn and Jonah Rule across the line.

To see complete results in all classes or to learn more, visit the official Rock Maple Racing website.

ATV.com Staff
ATV.com Staff

More by ATV.com Staff