ATV Motocross Honors Top Finishers and Special Supporters

Lucas Cooney
by Lucas Cooney
Over the weekend, the ATV Promoter’s Group (ATVPG) and the AMA ATV Motocross Championship welcomed hundreds of members of the ATV motocross industry to the Grand Resort Hotel and Convention Center, in Pigeon Forge, Tenn., for the 2011 ATVMX Awards Banquet. The event honored this season’s champions in the AMA ATV Motocross National Championship presented by DWT, in addition to the many individuals who played an integral part in a successful year.

The celebration on Saturday, Oct. 29 served as the final opportunity for all members of the ATV motocross community to come together as a whole and relive the moments that highlighted series this year. The top ten finishers from each of the 37 classes as well as the top three finishers from the North and South Challenge were given well-deserved recognition for their efforts at this year’s banquet.

Florida’s Mark Madl received top honors of the night, claiming the premier Pro Am Production Championship title and also taking home the Rider of the Year Award. Pennsylvania’s Elizabeth Vogt took home an array of hardware after Saturday evening’s celebration, including a top ten in the Girls (8-15) class, a Championship in the 90 CVT Limited (8-15) class and the coveted Youth Rider of the Year Award, amongst several talented young ATV racers.

In a highly competitive Production A class this season, Ohio’s Tyler Hamrick claimed the title over 450 A Champion Dalton Millican of Tennessee. Hamrick was also chosen as this year’s Most Improved Rider due to his steady progress on the track over the course of the season.

Thanks to the commitment of the series partners, the top finishing riders as well as several lucky banquet attendees, walked away with thousands of dollars worth of contingency prizes and other sponsor swag.

Specialty Awards presented on Saturday evening:

Rough ‘N Ready Pit Crew: JB Racing

Most Improved Rider: Tyler Hamrick

Youth Rider of the Year: Elizabeth Vogt

Rider of the Year: Mark Madl

Team of the Year: Media Allstars

Hard Luck Award: Ricky Crosby

Sponsor of the Year: DWT

Good Samaritan Award: Jackie James

The 2012 AMA ATV Motocross National Championship Series presented by DWT kicks off March 24 and 25 at Millcreek Raceway in Pell City, Ala.

Lucas Cooney
Lucas Cooney

I have been working exclusively in digital media since 1997. I started out with, spending nearly nine years creating and editing content on Canada's leading sports website. I left to join VerticalScope, Inc., one of the world's largest online publishers, to start a number of powersports publications. While at VerticalScope, I've helped create and oversee content for a wide variety of different publications, including,,,,, and many more.

More by Lucas Cooney