Creamer Locks Up ATV MX Championship Staff
by Staff
Wienen wins season finale at Loretta Lynn Ranch

Josh Creamer sealed his first ever ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA ATV Motocross Championship at the final race of the 2010 season aboard his Rockstar Makita Suzuki at Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn.

Due to inclement weather throughout the weekend, track officials were forced to reduce the pro racing to a one moto format, which was won by Chad Wienen aboard his Motoworks Can-Am. Wienen took his second overall win in a row, while Dustin Wimmer rode through the mud to take second place.

“Here at Loretta’s, we had a really great weekend” says Wienen. “When the rain started, we didn’t look forward to it, but the track workers did a really great job getting the track back into shape.”

Josh Creamer shows off the No. 1 plate after locking up the ATV MX championship.

The rain began on Sunday just moments before the pro riders were slated to go on the track for timed qualifying. Due to the heavy rain, the riders chose to forgo timed qualifying in favor of using championship points determine the lineup. As the rain continued, track conditions continued to decline.

Heavy rains on Saturday evening had already kept track workers up late clearing mud and water from the track to prepare for Sundays racing. Saturday night’s rain left the track was extremely vulnerable for the unexpected rain on Sunday. The track officials opted for a one moto format to accommodate the amateur race schedule, and the riders quickly realized that had just one chance to earn their finish at Loretta Lynn’s.

Creamer grabbed the holeshot and the early race lead. With Creamer to an early lead, Wienen and Wimmer were battling forward from mid pack, and quickly began making passes. Early in the race, Wienen had already made his way to third behind Thomas Brown and was able to pass into the second place behind Creamer. Within two laps, Wienen was able to power past Creamer for the lead, which he maintained through the checkered flag.

“I got a top six start and pushed my way forward. When I caught up to Josh and got around him, I just tried to build my lead” says Wienen. “Our Can-Am is working great and I’m really excited that I got this win and can carry the momentum into next year.”

Chad Wienen earned his second straight win to close out the season. (Photo courtesy Michael Roth)

Wimmer spent his time passing through the pack, and with the inside line into the ‘ten commandments’ whoop section, passed his teammate Creamer to take the second place spot. Wimmer had already sealed his second place spot in the chase for the championship during Round 10 at Red Bud.

“I took second place overall today. It was a strong second place so I was happy with it, especially being a one moto format,” says Wimmer. “But, I am not happy with second in points. I know a lot of people would be happy with second, but being the champion two years in a row… I can’t be happy with myself in second. All we can do now is look to next year.”

Following his lead, Walsh’s Jeremy Lawson followed Wimmer toward the front of the field. When Creamer found himself upside down after the finish line, Lawson took over the third spot for final podium position.

“I was nervous this morning because yesterday we were the fastest in practice, and I’m not really use to that,” says Lawson. “Then, when it rained, I really got nervous because I knew I had a chance to win this thing but you have to have luck to win a mud race. But, the track turned around, and I’m really happy with my finish.”

Creamer recovered to finish seventh, but in the one-moto format, it would have been mathematically impossible for anyone to overtake him in the final championship standings, anyway.

“This title is a lifelong dream of mine, and today is a dream come true,” says Creamer. “Unfortunately, we couldn’t run up front the whole race but we still pulled out the championship and that was my goal for this weekend.”

In the Pro-Am Production class, Chase Snapp captured the Pro Am Production Championship with his fifth place finish. Jeffrey Rastrelli grabbed the $100 Idol Speed Holeshot award followed closely by Derek Swartfager and Travis Moore. The three riders battled side by side throughout the moto, with many lead changes throughout. At the end, it was still the Suzuki ride of Rastrelli in the first spot with the win.

Although the battle for the lead was heated throughout the moto, it was Chase Snapp and Joel Hetrick the crowd was watching. Both riders had bad starts, with Snapp two positions ahead of Hetrick most of the moto. Just when Snapp looked to move into the third position, he spun in a corner and lost two positions, moving Hetrick into the lead. Although Hetrick was able to beat Snapp in the moto, it was Snapp who won the Pro Am Production championship by eight points over Hetrick.

Loretta Lynn MX ResultsATV Motocross Pro Class Final Standings
1.Chad WienenCan-Am1.Josh CreamerSuzuki459 (6 wins)
2.Dustin WimmerSuzuki2.Dustin WimmerSuzuki427 (1 win)
3.Jeremy LawsonSuzuki3.Chad WienenCan-Am366 (2 wins)
4.Josh UppermanHonda4.Josh UppermanHonda359 (1 win)
5.Thomas BrownYamaha5.John Natalie Jr.Can-Am346 (1 win)
6.Jeremie WarniaCan-Am6.Thomas BrownYamaha291
7.Josh CreamerSuzuki7.Jeremy LawsonCan-Am291
8.Patrick BrownHonda8.Jeremie WarniaCan-Am249
9.Nick DeNobleHonda9.Patrick BrownHonda240
10.Cody GrantSuzuki10.Nick A. DenobleHonda198 Staff Staff

More by Staff