Josh Creamer took home his third overall win in a row aboard his Rockstar Makita Suzuki during round seven of the AMA Pro ATV MX Championship at Muddy Creek Raceway in Blountville, TN. Creamer may be on a winning streak, but his overall win today was not an easy feat. With second place finishes in each of the two motos, Creamer took the overall win, and moved him 20 points ahead of his teammate Dustin Wimmer in the chase for the championship.

“Today turned out really well for us,” said Creamer. “This is our third win in a row, and we’ve extended our points lead ever further.”

Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki started their weekend on a high note when current champion, Dustin Wimmer, earned the $100 Fastest Qualifier award. Going into today’s event, many slated Wimmer as the man to beat, but he first had to overcome more of the hard luck that has slowed his charge for a third-straight ATV MX Title.

At the start of moto one, Baldwin Motorsports PEP’s Josh Upperman took the first corner and the $250 holeshot award. Although Upperman was off to the early lead, it wasn’t long before Motoworks Can-Am rider John Natalie and Dustin Wimmer were headed for the front. As the riders jumped through the pro section, Natalie’s bike shut off mid-air, forcing Wimmer to land on top of him.

Josh Creamer took his third straight overall, and fifth of the season at Muddy Creek Raceway.Josh Creamer took his third straight overall, and fifth of the season at Muddy Creek Raceway.

“The first moto, I had a dose of bad luck once again.” said Wimmer, who has struggled throughout the season. “John [Natalie] lost his motor and unfortunately, I landed on top of him over a double. Luckily, he was okay and I got back on the bike and did the best I could to make passes.”

With Natalie and Wimmer out of the running for the top spots, Walsh’s Jeremy Lawson overcame Upperman for the lead. Motoworks Can-Am rider Chad Wienen was fighting towards the front while Creamer made a stunning recovery from a last-place start, passing through the pack to the third spot. In the last few laps, both Wienen and Creamer were able to overcome Lawson to finish 1-2 respectively. Wimmer recovered for seventh, with Natalie in 14th.

Creamer made up or the last place start in the first moto when he earned the $250 Holeshot award for moto two. The battles raged on as Team Suzuki and Team Can-Am made up the top four spots, with Creamer maintaining the lead. As Wienen set his sights on the front and made a pass on Wimmer, Wimmer immediately seemed to catch fire, and mounted a charge toward a win. By the checkered flag, Wimmer had made passed on Wienen and Creamer for the lead and pulled away from the pack.

“I got a good holeshot,” said Wimmer, “but when Chad [Wienen] passed me, I got aggressive. I passed Chad, then Creamer, and then took the moto win.”

Chad Wienen won the first moto on his way to another podium finish.Chad Wienen won the first moto on his way to another podium finish.

Round 7 marked Wienen’s third time on the box this year, with the Motoworks Can-Am rider finishing second overall.

“We’re glad to be on the box,” said Wienen, who was on the podium last weekend as well. “It takes work, and we’ve got to work a little harder, but then we will be on top.”

Although Wienen and Wimmer took moto wins, Creamer took the overall. Creamer maintains his points lead going into Round 8, where he says he looks to continue his winning streak.

In the Pro-Am Production class, Chase Snapp overcame Joel Hetrick for the overall win. Snapp, who took both $100 Holeshot awards, was passed in the last lap by Hetrick the first moto. Using the defeat as motivation, Snapp set out for the win and lead start to finish, earning the overall win. Hetrick battled to the very end, earning his second overall, followed by Casey Martin who finished third. With this win, Snapp leads the points headed to Pleasure Valley.

The series travels next to Pleasure Valley Raceway in Armagh, PA for the Round 8 of the AMA Pro ATV MX Championship on July 3-4.

Spring Creek MX Results ATV Motocross Pro Class Standings
Pos. Rider ATV Motos Pos. Rider ATV Points
1. Josh Creamer Suzuki 2 – 2 1. Josh Creamer Suzuki 313 (5 wins)
2. Chad Wienen Can-Am 1 – 3 2. Dustin Wimmer Suzuki 293 (1 win)
3. Dustin Wimmer Suzuki 7 – 1 3. Chad Wienen Can-Am 237
4. Josh Upperman Honda 4 – 5 4. John Natalie Jr. Can-Am 234 
5. Jeremy Lawson Suzuki 3 – 7 5. Josh Upperman Honda 227 (1 win)
6. Thomas Brown Yamaha 5 – 6 6. Thomas Brown Yamaha 206
7. Jermie Warnia Can-Am 6 – 8 7. Jeremy Lawson Suzuki 167
8. John Natalie Jr. Can-Am 14 – 4 8. Patrick Brown Honda 157
9. Cody Gibson Suzuki 9 – 9 9. Jeremie Warnia Can-Am 151
10. Cody Grant Suzuki 11 – 10 10. Nick A. Denoble Honda 146



Find a ATV Dealer near you

Enter your ZIP code below to search for ATV dealers near you.

Be the first to write a comment.

Email this article to a friend