A Grand Slam for ATV Racers

ATV.com Staff
by ATV.com Staff
Four-race championship should be a hit

The ATV Promoters Group (ATVPG) has unveiled the ITP Tires Grand Slam Series, a four-race championship within the ITP Tires/Moose Racing ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited.

Gold, silver and bronze medals will be awarded to the top-three overall finishers in the miniseries, along with an extra $1,000 to the Pro winner at each event.

To be eligible, riders must compete in all four remaining Showcase Events with ‘First Base’ at High Point Raceway in Mount Morris, Pa. (May 24-25); ‘Second Base’ at Unadilla Valley Sports in New Berlin, NY (June 7-8); ‘Third Base’ at RedBud in Buchanan, Mich. (July 26-27) and the ‘Home Run’ at Loretta Lynn’s Dirt Days in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. (Aug. 9-10).

Pro winners at each Grand Slam event will pocket an extra $1,000.

“We are excited to offer this addition to the 2008 racing season,” says ATVPG director Sam Gammon. “The ITP Tires Grand Slam will make it possible for riders to earn a little something extra this season, while also providing a second chance for riders who were either unable to compete in our earlier rounds or had a rough start to their racing season.”

“ITP Tires is pleased to partner with the ATVA on this meaningful and exciting program,” says Craig Peterson of ITP Tires. “This program will give significant rewards and accolades for riders who participate in the most prestigious events this season. We’re thrilled to be a part of it.”

Riders must compete in all four races in order to be eligible for the Grand Slam. The final awards will be presented following Loretta Lynn’s Dirt Days. The overall top three in each of the 34 classes from Pro to Youth will earn custom ITP Grand Slam medals.

The next race for the ITP Tires/Moose Racing ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited is the Concept Haulers ATV Showdown at Sunset Ridge in Walnut, Ill. on May 10-11.

ATV.com Staff
ATV.com Staff

More by ATV.com Staff