Farr Wins Powerline Park UTV Class in Maverick

ATV.com Staff
by ATV.com Staff
Can-Am wraps up regional titles

Can-Am Maverick 1000R Side-by-Side vehicle racer Tim Farr won the XC1 Pro UTV class at round 12 of the 2015 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country series in St. Clairsville, Ohio. Maverick 1000R pilots also won series championships in the Mid America Cross Country series, Wood Extreme XC Racing, American Wood Racing Championship Series and earned two runner-up spots in the World Off-Road Championship Series.

“Can-Am Maverick 1000R side-by-side vehicle racers keep impressing on tracks across America,” said Jeff Leclerc, Racing Project Leader, Can-Am. “Anytime you earn a GNCC XC1 Pro class victory it’s great, but we had two Maverick teams on the box at Powerline Park. We have also won three regional Pro UTV class titles and are in the running for the GNCC crowns as well. We will continue to strive for success at every event we enter.”

Powerline Park GNCC

Powerline Park in Ohio, included both ATVs (round 12) and side-by-side vehicles (round five). Can-Am / JB Racing / Gunk racer Tim Farr notched his first XC1 Pro class victory of the year, and third straight podium finish, in his Maverick 1000R. Offroadmotorsports / WickedBilt / Can-Am Maverick racer Steve Matko took third to join Farr on the podium.

Defending XC1 Pro class champion Kyle Chaney (TurnKey UTV / Can-Am), despite a 13th place finish, maintained his class points lead. Chaney, who is looking to notch back-to-back titles in his Can-Am Maverick 1000R, sits 24 points ahead of Larry Hendershot Jr., who took 11th in Ohio. Can-Am racer Seth Mitchell also tallied his first podium of the year, earning third in the XC2 Pro Sport division. Can-Am driver Joe Krcelich owns a three-point advantage in the XC2 Pro Sport class heading into the finale in Crawfordsville, Ind.

Bryan Buckhannon Powerline-Park GNCC

Bryan Buckhannon held on to his lead in the 4×4 Pro class.

In ATV racing action, 4×4 Pro class defending champion Bryan Buckhannon kept his podium streak alive, as well as his class points lead, by earning third aboard his Can-Am Renegade 800R X xc ATV at Powerline Park. Buckhannon has made the podium all season (two wins, four seconds, six thirds) and has a 12-point lead. Can-Am racers also earned seven additional podiums at round 12, including a clean sweep in the 4×4 A/B ranks.

Championship News

Can-Am Maverick pilots notched three titles and two runner-up finishes in four other racing series around the U.S.

Chaney added two other Side-by-Side racing championships to his trophy case, winning both the WORCS MAXC Racing Series SxS Pro Production class championship and the WEXCR UTV Open class title. Chaney also finished third in AWRCS, where Can-Am went 1-2-3. Dave Plavi won the title in his Maverick and the runner-up spot went to Richard Travalena Jr.

Out west, in WORCS Side-by-Side racing action, Kyle Melville ended up second overall in the SxS Pro Stock title chase inside his Can-Am Maverick 1000R. SxS 1000 Stock class racer Gilbert Flores also had a great season, taking the runner-up spot in the standings with his Can-Am Maverick 1000R. Also, Can-Am racer Matt Hancock captured third overall in the SxS Unlimited division.

Finally, the Can-Am / ITP / Murray Racing team currently owns the SCORE International class 1900 (Pro) points lead after taking third at round four, the Imperial Valley 250. The No. 1917 Can-Am Maverick MAX Side-by-Side vehicle of Derek and Jason Murray will compete in the SCORE World Desert Championship series season finale Nov. 17-21, in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico.

ATV.com Staff
ATV.com Staff

More by ATV.com Staff