Cole Richardson Earns First Career GNCC Pro Win

Press Release
by Press Release
Walker Fowler and Adam McGill complete the podium

Racing returned to Matthews Farm for the first time in fifteen years on Saturday, September 29 for round eleven of the 2018 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country (GNCC) Series, an AMA National Championship. Although weather impacted the region earlier in the week with rain, the stage was set for an incredible race day that would offer those in competition a tough course that spanned nearly twelve miles. With an historic return and a great turnout, a win here was one worth fighting for.

AmPro Yamaha/Gear Alloy/GBC’s Cole Richardson would strike early in the XC1 Pro class as he secured the $250 Wiseco holeshot award and began a two-hour duel with WFR/GBC/Fly Racing/Yamaha’s Walker Fowler as the pair swapped for the lead throughout the race. The two riders exclaimed from the podium that both were making mistakes on the brutal track and they seemed to be capitalizing on the misfortunes only to hand the lead back and forth for the duration of the race.

Cole Richardson

Cole Richardson earned his first win, but started the day out by earning the $250 Wiseco holeshot award. (Photo by Ken Hill)

As the checkered flag flew, Richardson would find himself in the lead, taking the Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Mason-Dixon GNCC win and also marking his first career XC1 Pro win. Fowler would settle for second after a trying day, while McGill Mafia/CST Tires/Moose Racing’s Adam McGill would battle all day for a top position when it counted. McGill leaves round eleven with a solid third besting a hard charging Maxxis/Fly Racing/Ye Olde Cycle Barn’s Chris Borich and Bneal Motorsports/CST Tires/Moose Racing’s Brycen Neal who claimed fourth and fifth respectively.

After starting mid-pack JMR/’s Jarrod McClure fought his way back through the XC1 Pro class field, finishing sixth overall. McClure remains second in the National Championship series as we head into the last two rounds. GBC Motorsports/RJR/Solo Pilot’s Westley Wolfe came through in seventh after battling at the front for the opening laps. BNR Motorsports/GBC/Precision’s Josh Merritt had another great ride with an eighth place finish.

Walker Fowler

Walker Fowler earned second overall at the Mason-Dixon GNCC. (Photo by Ken Hill)

Spider Graphix/GBC Motorsports/Moose Racing’s Marty Christofferson and M.R. Unlimited/GBC Tires/RJR’s Devon Feehan came through ninth and tenth at round eleven. Feehan and Christofferson both sit inside the top 10 overall, and are looking to improve their standings heading in the final two rounds.

XC2 Pro-Am would set a blistering pace as well as the rough conditions tested both rider and machine. Maxxis/Ithaca Recreation Sports/Fly Racing’s Hunter Hart would push incredibly hard on his way to yet another class win and ninth overall. Joining Hart on the podium in second was Pierce Performance/Maxxis/Waynesburg Yamaha’s John Glauda Jr. and in third Demaree Motorsports/LSR/Fly Racing’s Austin Abney. Conditions from the XC2 podium were all in agreement that this track was deceiving and while it had many open field sections, the woods remained slick and difficult making their podium finishes well earned.

The 10 a.m. racers would have to tackle the Mason-Dixon track head on as they would be the first to encounter the heaviest mud providing the 4×4 Pro class with an advantage and opportunities to make things happen before encountering lappers as the race wore on. Cunningham Racing/Can-Am/Kenda’s Kevin Cunningham would secure the 4×4 Pro win as well as the overall followed by Can-Am/Derisi Racing/GBC Motorsports Landon Wolfe in second and Jordan Phillips in third.

Mason-Dixon GNCC 4x4 Podium

Kevin Cunningham took the 4×4 Pro class win. (Photo by Ken Hill)

Once again, the WXC action was very competitive and would see Traci Pickens charge her way to her seventh win of the season. Katelyn Osburn found success here as well taking second and Megan Shepard would claim the final podium position in third.

The Youth racers took the challenging conditions and ran with them as only they could. There were plenty of slick hills and thick mud in sections, therefore a win here would be one worth bragging about. Layne McCormick powered his way to another win and would be joined on the podium after stellar racing by John Glauda Jr. in second and Parker Henderson in third.

Mason Dixon GNCC XC1 Pro Results

  1. Cole Richardson (YAM)
  2. Walker Fowler (YAM)
  3. Adam McGill (HON)
  4. Chris Borich (SUZ)
  5. Brycen Neal (YAM)
  6. Jarrod McClure (HON)
  7. Westley Wolfe (SUZ)
  8. Josh Merritt (HON)
  9. Martin Christofferson (HON)
  10. Devon Feehan (HON)

Overall National Championship Standings

  1. Walker Fowler (251)
  2. Jarrod McClure (207)
  3. Brycen Neal (204)
  4. Chris Borich (203)
  5. Cole Richardson (149)
  6. Adam McGill (138)
  7. Devon Feehan (114)
  8. Marty Christofferson (113)
  9. Westley Wolfe (103)
  10. Hunter Hart (100)
Press Release
Press Release

More by Press Release