Can-Am DS 450 Racers Win Seven NEATV-MX Championships

Lucas Cooney
by Lucas Cooney

A broken chain derailed Josh Creamer's championship hopes.

Can-Am DS 450 racers won seven class championships and earned a total of 15 top-three finishes in other classes after the final race of the 2011 New England ATV Motocross series.

Motoworks / Can-Am DS 450 Pro class competitor Josh Creamer came up 15 points short in his quest for a Pro championship due to a broken chain in the first Pro class moto.

“I was proud of Josh Creamer’s effort this year and second place is nothing to be ashamed of that’s for sure. A broken chain is out of your control, but, sadly, it’s part of racing,” says Jimmie O’Dell, Race Manager, Can-Am. “I was pleased to see so many Can-Am DS 450 ATVs compete in the New England MX series this year and to have seven amateur class titles.”

Creamer held a 10-point advantage in the Pro class standings coming into the finale at Hemonds MX in Minot, Maine. However, a broken chain on the first lap of the first Pro class moto resulted in a DNF and mathematically eliminated Creamer for the Pro title chase. The skilled pro remained focused, however, and won the second moto to go along with a double-moto sweep in the Pro-Am class. Creamer ended up second overall in both the Pro and Pro-Am classes aboard his Can-Am DS 450.

Del Bohlman won the NEATV-MX 40+ Championship

Fellow Can-Am Pro racer Cody Miller, who did not compete in the final due to a crash in practice, earned third in the Pro and Pro-Am class championships riding his BCS Performance / Can-Am DS 450. Canadian rider Jasmin Plante filled in for Miller in the Pro-Am class at Hemonds MX and adapted very quickly to the DS 450, earning a very respectable third-place overall finish.

Leading the way on the amateur side of the NEATV-MX series was former GNC ATV Champion Travis Spader. The New Jersey racer won four class championships (Four-Stroke A, Production A, 25+ and 30+) on his DS 450. Can-Am racer Nicole Gates posted four double-moto sweeps on her way to winning the 2011 Women’s class title. Adam Trafford won the Production B class title and finished third in the Four-Stroke B class. Del Bohlman also rode a DS 450 to a class title, winning the 40+ class, and a second-place finish in the 30+ B class.

2011 NEATV-MX Class Champions

Travis Spader: Four-Stroke A, Production A, 25+, 30+

Nicole Gates: Women’s

Adam Trafford: Production B

Del Bohlman: 40+

Lucas Cooney
Lucas Cooney

I have been working exclusively in digital media since 1997. I started out with, spending nearly nine years creating and editing content on Canada's leading sports website. I left to join VerticalScope, Inc., one of the world's largest online publishers, to start a number of powersports publications. While at VerticalScope, I've helped create and oversee content for a wide variety of different publications, including,,,,, and many more.

More by Lucas Cooney