Borich Back on Top at John Penton GNCC Staff
by Staff
McGill, Bithell complete XC1 podium

Two weeks ago Chris Borich looked human for the first time all year, finishing third at the Limestone 100 GNCC after winning the first five rounds of the 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series. Anybody celebrating his demise was reminded this past weekend at the Wiseco John Penton GNCC that the four-time series champion is still at the top of his game. Borich made one of his patented last-lap passes on Adam McGill to secure his sixth win of the season.

Eric Hoyland began his day by grabbing the $250 Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing XC1 Holeshot Award ahead of a stacked field of riders. It didn’t take long for the veteran front-runners to take the lead, beginning with Lonestar Racing/Precision/ITP’s Adam McGill, who crossed the line in first on the opening lap. Borich put his Maxxis-backed machine right behind McGill, while Reliable Tool Supply/Maxxis’ Chris Bithell, BNR’s Kevin Yoho and JB Racing/ Can-Am‘s Jarrod McClure followed close behind.

Adam McGill Holeshot

AmPro Yamaha‘s Walker Fowler and HMF/GBC/Yamaha’s Johnny Gallagher didn’t get a start out front but the Yamaha-backed duo quickly made their way through the pack. Fowler caught up to the leaders, where he engaged in a battle for a podium position with Bithell, Borich and McGill. A podium finish was in the cards for Fowler until he ran out of gas on the final lap, where he ended up finishing fourth overall for the day.

Chris Borich John Penton GNCC

Although McGill led the most laps of the afternoon, it was Borich who secured the overall win. McGill’s second place finish was a breakthrough ride, as it matched his season-best second place at the opening round. Bithell’s consistent season continued as the Pennsylvania native secured a third place overall finish.

John Penton GNCC XC1 Podium

Gallagher put in a solid ride to take fifth overall, while Yoho came in sixth. Rookie Braden Henthorn finished seventh, while Jeff Pickens, Gabe Phillips and Craig Bowman rounded out the top 10.

Borich continues to lead the overall standings after six rounds of racing, while Fowler sits in second place. Bithell is close behind for third and then it’s McGill and Yoho rounding out the top five overall in the overall National Championship standings.

In the XC2 division, it was once again Brycen Neal who came out victorious at the John Penton GNCC. After missing the last round due to injury, Landon Wolfe secured an impressive second place finish in Ohio. Indiana’s Fred Marley secured yet another podium finish behind the rookies, giving him a solid fourth place in the class standings. Additionally, Marley kicked off the day by grabbing the All Balls Racing Holeshot in the XC2 class, taking home an extra $100.

John Penton GNCC XC1 Podium

After seven rounds of racing, Neal holds the points lead in the XC2 division, while defending champion Patrick McGuire, who finished 19th in Ohio, sits in second place overall. Wolfe currently holds third place in the overall standings.

Indiana’s Marshal Goings topped the College A class, also claiming the Top Amateur Award for the afternoon. Goings’ impressive ninth place finish put him at the second highest non-pro rider in the overall standings, finishing only two positions behind XC2 winner Brycen Neal.

The 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series continues June 15 and 16 with the Parts Unlimited Mountaineer Run GNCC in Masontown, WV.

2012 GNCC XC1 Standings2012 GNCC XC2 Standings
1.Chris BorichSUZ201 (6 wins)1.Brycen NealHON179 (5 wins)
2.Walker FowlerYAM141 (1 win)2.Patrick McGuireYAM136 (1 win)
3.Chris BithellSUZ1393.Landon WolfeSUZ123
4.Adam McGillHON1324.Fred MarleyHON116
5.Kevin YohoYAM1015.Randy HamiltonHON99 (1 win)
6.Jeff PickensYAM996.Michael LancasterHON92
7.Johnny GallagherYAM967.Joshua MerrittCAN88
8.Jarrod McClureHON968.Blake KramerYAM88
9.Braden HenthornHON959.Chad JonesHON85
10.Gabe PhillipsYAM8310.Nathan WallpeHON82 Staff Staff

More by Staff