Massachusetts Raises Minimum Age for ATV Riding
Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick has signed a law that raises the minimum age for ATV riding in the state to 14.
The law was sponsored after 8-year-old Sean Kearney died from injuries he suffered from ATV accident in 2006.
“This bill focuses on the safety of people, especially children, who use these vehicles,” says Senate President Therese Murray. “It holds negligent users or owners accountable and helps curb the dangerous practices that harm individuals and children.”
The bill also requires all ATV operators 18 years old and younger to undergo mandatory safety training. Additionally, penalties have been increased for illegal riding – the penalty for driving an ATV while intoxicated has increased from a maximum $75 fine to a maximum $5,000 fine. Finally, the bill creates a fund, which is supported by registration revenues and fines, to improve enforcement and develop and maintain trails.
More by ATV.com Staff